Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » PRODUCTION DB - Some doubts -Pls help me out - Juli
PRODUCTION DB - Some doubts -Pls help me out - Juli [message #56998] Tue, 13 May 2003 05:02 Go to next message
Julie
My dear friends.

I am new to production database and I am told to work in production
DB environment remotely and give support to our client.

I am little tensed to work in this environment!!!

I am in INDIA and our client is in SWISS.

If you have worked in production support environment,Pls spend some time
for me .

I would be so much greatful to you if I get some answers and suggestions
based on your practical experience.

these are my doubts.

1) How can we set up an oracle database server remotely?

2) In windows platform ,How do you connect to the development server and access the Oracle DB.

via SQL Net8 or Telnet ?

which one is more feasible.

3)

a) In production database (24X7) with heavy transaction rate , how often should we take backups.?
Note : Presently I have planned to take Hot backups weekly once.But recovery time would be more
if some failure happens. pls suggest

b) Is it a good approch , if I go for RMAN, insted of connecting to remote prod.server and taking backup manually as I said above . pls suggest.

c) what all factors should we consider while designing our back up strategies.? few points pls

With warm regards
- Juli
Re: PRODUCTION DB - Some doubts -Pls help me out - Juli [message #56999 is a reply to message #56998] Tue, 13 May 2003 06:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
1. in case of unix machines,
start the xhost.
use ssh or putty or exceed or any emulator
install oracle.
2, for windows, u can use pcanywhere or terminal services to do remote installations.
the pain with windows is , you cannot do a reboot.
sqlnet or net8 etc can be used to administer the
remote database only
3. Oracle strongly recomends RMAN